Zara and Richard

The BTEC National Diploma




First year modules:
  • Introduction to Programming
  • Information Systems
  • Computer Systems
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Communications

Second year modules:
  • Hardware Testing Procedures
  • Low Level Programing
  • Introduction to Microprocessor Systems
  • Programming
  • Small Business Systems

We try to make the work as practical as possible and most of our students seem to enjoy the work.

The second year of the course has a large hardware testing content which involves working with a variety of test instruments like logic analysers, oscilloscopes, logicprobes, multimeters and many more.

The course is very popular and we generally ask for the following minimum qualifications:

  • 4 GCSE's (Grades A-C)
  • or BTEC First Diploma in an appropriate discipline
  • or Irish Leaving Cert 4 Ord Passes or equivalent
  • or a qualification deemed to be equivalent by the Course Tutor.

Entrants need have no prior computing knowledge and may resit one GCSE in each year of study to improve existing grades.

There follows a link to a Rogues gallery of past students.


Back to Computing and Administration